Nature magazine has released a PDF of 15 evolutionary gems that should give that someone some basic information on where we are with evolution.  Also, at The Rogues Gallery, Steven Novella, rhapsodizes on this nice PDF from nature as well:

There are so many slam-dunks for evolution that I have not been able to shake the feeling that if I had the time to walk someone through the best lines of evidence for evolution, and they has even the barest sliver of an open mind, I could convince them of its reality. Or at least I could give them a whopping dose of cognitive dissonance that might later nudge their opinions. On rare occasions I have even been able to do this – just often enough to keep this hopeful belief alive.

What I would like, however, is a resource that brings together the home-runs for evolution and lays them out so that anyone literate enough to read can see the evidence for what it is.

Well, Nature magazine has decided to do just that – they have published with free online access 15 Evolutionary Gems, by Henry Gee, Rory Howlett and Philip Campbell. I will definitely be adding this to my list of goto sites about evlolution.

While it is not the end all and be all, it is a nice place to start.  All of the 15 examples are interesting and give a good background on why evolution is, A: REAL, and B: COOL!

Then go read something by Dawkins-The Ancestor’s Tale, for instance-and learn more fun and real stuff!

