Allegations that members of a southern Utah polygamous sect are guilty of widespread welfare fraud were raised repeatedly this summer during a U.S. Senate judiciary committee hearing.

via Facts don’t fit claims of FLDS welfare fraud.

I find this article interesting.  It seems the facts do not support the allegations, at least in this case.  Which is good.  Don’t get me wrong, I am firmly against this cult, but I am also happy that they may not be bleeding the government welfare system to support their lifestyle.  I am sure that this is not representative of all the data.

The main allegations that piss me off of course, are the allegations of child abuse, molestation, and underage marriages.  I have no qualm, actually, with polygamy, as long as all parties involved are adults, consent to the lifestyle, and are cognizant of the fact that it is illegal and know they may be liable to prosecution.

