I ran across this video on You Tube.

Do these labels matter? In my mind, yes. But as the video asserts, labels mean different things for different people. My definitions are thus:

Theist: believe in a god, gods, or higher powers of some sort.
Atheist: Do not accept (or “believe”) any explanation of higher powers.
Agnostic: Don’t know the answer to the question: is there a higher power? But err on the side of the rational idea, that until the existence of higher powers is proven, its impossible to say one way or the other.

I think these are the basic stances. However some atheists and even agnostics believe that religion has a negative influence on society. These I would classify (as I classify myself) as “anti-theist”: they wish to see the blight of religious dogma removed or reversed, and want secular thought to be the ideal.

Still some refer to themselves as “non-theist.” I honestly do not know if there is a difference between this and atheist. Although I can also see an agnostic as being non-theist. Agnosticism is more of notion of knowledge, and could be construed as the “easy” way out: if you don’t know, don’t make a stance. But I also think, as stated above, that many who call themselves agnostic do make a stance against the societal issues that religion causes.

