Here’s the history. I blogged for a while last spring under the name of anti-theism.net, but then up and quit, because it became clear to me that blogging, and doing it well, is almost a full time job in and of itself. Without pay, of course. Then I thought I would give it another try earlier this fall with this here blog. Again, my real job, at times, takes a lot of my time and energy, so I just stopped after a few posts. I did not (and really still do not) know what I really want this blog to be. But, I have decided to just take it as it comes and try not to devote every free moment I have to it. Quite frankly, I don’t know how people like PZ Myers and Greg Laden can do the phenomenal job that they do. I, too, work in academia, and there is no way I would have the time to blog to the extant that these guys do. But, we are all the better for them anyway. I wish I had some of your MoJo PZ!

I moved down here (the Atlanta area) a little over 2 years ago, and have not even tried to get into the atheism/humanist/agnostic/bright/secular scene down here. Until now. I have found that there is actually a scene down here-groups like GUST (Gwinnett: Understanding Secular Truths) and the Atlanta Freethought Society (and if anyone knows of any other groups-let me know). So I have decided to become a sociable atheist and seek these people out. Face it, this isn’t the stronghold of secular thought in the US.

So, what’s pissing me off today? Well, first, I finally saw M. Knight SHAMalan’s “The Happening” yesterday…what a load of tripe. I especially like how he tried to make science appear as if it was just as metaphysical as religion…this whole idea that some things in nature we can never understand or just weren’t meant to understand is a load…which is basically the thesis of the entire movie. Plus, it was very poorly written, with the actors having to deliver worse lines than any even George Lucas could come up with! I think it would have been a whole lot more interesting if there was an actual scientific explanation for what was happening, but what can you expect from the king of gimmick movies.

Hillary Clinton as secretary of state. I mean, who really did not see this coming? Don’t get me wrong. I am an avid Obama supporter, but I think he should have gotten someone else. I just don’t want another term of the same old people doing the same old thing. I hope that he can convince HR Clinton to think out of the box, and really start opening up new conversations with both our allies and “enemies.”

